The Isaac Knapp Dental Education Foundation

The Isaac Knapp Dental Education Foundation is the philanthropic and charitable arm of the Isaac Knapp District Dental Society.  Its mission is to improve the oral health of the public we serve by providing a source of funding for access to care and dental education programs throughout northeast Indiana.

The Isaac Knapp Dental Education Foundation was established in 1987 and was organized to promote educational programs and support of research about dental care in the public interest and to enhance dental hygiene in northeast Indiana. It is governed by its board of directors which meet regularly. It achieved the 1990 capital campaign goal to raise $100,000 from 175 dentists and corporate donors. In 2012 the Foundation celebrated its twenty fifth anniversary with a gala dinner dance and raising $143,000. Current assets as of December 2012 are $640,000. It has been recognized by the American Dental Association for achievement.

Since its inception, the Foundation has distributed over $285,000 in grants to various children’s oral health and community outreach initiatives, area free clinics, student scholarships, continuing education programs and improved facilities for the IPFW allied dental education program. These include Children’s Dental Health Month a program initiated by the American Dental Association, McMillen Health Center oral health and BRUSH program for school aged children,Indiana MOM (Mission of Mercy) Matthew 25 dental health clinic, Isaac Knapp Dental Alliance projects, Student table clinics, Science Fairs, Focus on Health screenings, Dental Hygiene facility expansion, Community oral health development supporting free clinics in Huntington, Dekalb, Steuben  and Allen counties, Student scholarships for dental students, dental hygiene, assisting and lab technicians at IU school of dentistry and IU Fort Wayne, and is a contributor to the Historical Society and Museum.

The Foundation receives income from member dentists, annual golf outing, fundraising, memorials, estate giving and corporate sponsorship friends. Giving is encouraged. Donor categories are:
– Major: $5000 and above
– Major – Deferred: $5000 and above
– Patron: $1000-4,999
– Sustaining: $500-999
– Supporting: $250-499
– Contributing: $1-249

Isaac Knapp dentists and friends have generously supported the Foundation through the years.  Continued contributions serve as an investment for our profession and our community and can be made in the following ways:
– Checking the Foundation box for $100 on annual dues statement
– Sending a check for any amount directly to the Foundation office
– Supporting the annual golf outing fundraiser each May
– Making a memorial gift in memory of a friend, colleague or loved one
– Contacting your attorney or estate planner to make a planned gift from your estate ($5000 minimum)

Gifts can be made and sent to: The Isaac Knapp Dental Education Foundation, P.O. Box 97, Arcola, Indiana 46704. Contributions are deductible for federal income, estate and gift tax purposes.

With your help, the Isaac Knapp Dental Education Foundation will continue to grow.  Northeast Indiana is a great place to live and we have a responsibility to share our good fortune and make it even better by helping others in our community.

2020 IKDEF-Grant Application-Form (1)

2020-IKDEF-Scholarship-Information-Sheet (1)


IKDEF Board of Directors
James P. Klinger, D.D.S., President
Steven J. Hoagburg, D.D.S., Treasurer
Todd P. Briscoe, D.D.S.
Gary Scheumann, D.D.S.
Ryan Holmes, D.D.S.
Jason Glassley, D.D.S.
Joseph Platt, D.D.S.
Connie Shim Middleton, D.D.S.

Jay (John) P. Hayes, D.D.S., IKDDS Past President
Angela Becker,  D.D.S., IKDDS President
Cathy A. Fitzgerald, M.B.A., Secretary and IKDDS Executive Director

IKDEF Charter Board Members
Jack H. Boyd, D.D.S.
James E. Dumas, D.D.S.
Edwin C. Errington, D.D.S.
Max E. Fetters, D.D.S.
Charles T. Frissell, D.D.S.
Lloyd J. Hagedorn, D.D.S.
Ralph G. Merkel, D.D.S.
Robert M. Stetzel, D.D.S.

2019-2020 IKDEF Board Meetings at the Ramada Inn

Monday, September 23, 2019

Monday, April 13, 2020

Wednesday, April 15, 2020 (Joint Meeting with IKDDS)